My five-year old nephew loves to bake. He is a huge fan of The Cake Boss. A few weeks ago, I went over to my sister’s house and he and I made a pumpkin pie and cupcakes.

With the holidays coming up, I started thinking maybe I should get him one of those easy bake ovens.

Then I looked at it.

It’s purple and has a big girl’s face on the front of it.

Why, in the 21st Century, are products like this easy bake oven still geared towards girls?

What do we buy the little boys who love the Cake Boss? Do those boys really want a little oven that is geared and marketed towards girls?

Sure, I could buy him a kid’s cookbook, but they don’t seem to be any better. The problem still remains. I want him to be able to make and bake his own stuff.

When we baked, he mixed the sugar and eggs and he decorated the cupcakes. I was the one who, rightly so, put everything in the oven.

Why can’t he have something that he can make and bake on his own? Why are girls the bakers?

We make so many advances, yet with children’s toys, we are still so far behind. We keep the same marketing ideas, but these aren’t the same kids.

