All around me is talk of this rock bottom stuff. One must hit this place in order to start picking one’s self back up. Most think of rock bottom when dealing with people suffering with the illness of addiction. However, I think everyone has it within his or her self to hit his or her own rock bottom.

In Terry Tempest Williams’ book Refuge: An Unnatural History of Family and Place Williams describes a rock bottom as, “the bottom of the rock, the underbelly that rarely gets turned over;” (Williams 136).

I have been reading and rereading the lines about the underbelly. Hitting one’s rock bottom does not happen often. One is always afraid of what lurks in the moisten dirt beneath the rock. But why? Underneath that rock are so many undiscovered wonders. Perhaps the underbelly is a shelter for a family of worms. There is so much more to discover in the underbelly and think of all one can learn from seeing what lies there. Why are people afraid of the rock bottom?

I understand it is unpleasant. It can be overwhelming and scary. One might not rise out of the rock bottom. These are all legitimate fears. But what is worse, being afraid of what is at the bottom or living to tell others what was at the bottom of your rock?

I hear it said over and over again, the only way a person can get better is to hit the rock bottom. Yet people who are already on the path to hit rock bottom fight so hard not to admit they are falling.

No one wants to be traveling down the rabbit hole. No one wants to lose sight of one’s self. But these things happen and if you don’t fall and hit the rock bottom, you don’t have a chance of getting back up and becoming a deeper and stronger person.

I don’t know if I like the idea of having to fall hard to get back up, but I know in my own life that was the only time I could find the strength to move forward. I had to fall on my face in order to see things weren’t working and I looked at the rock bottom. I turned it over and saw all the undiscovered wealth and knowledge. There was all this great stuff just waiting for me to grab onto and use to pull myself back up.

Again, no one wants to fall, but falling happens. When you hit your own person rock bottom, don’t be frustrated because you are in this place, look around you. What new strengths and wisdoms are waiting for you to grab onto?

