I have a friend who literally has three jobs. Two are part-time jobs and one is a full time job. People comment that my friend is crazy. I don’t see it that way. I see my friend who is on a mission. There is something my friend wants and my friend is grabbing as many jobs as my friend can juggle in order to get the prize.

My first comment to my friend was, “Could I have one of those jobs?”

As the conversation went on (more like as I continued writing the email), I started thinking maybe I should take my friend’s approach to finding a job. I spent so much of my time just looking for a full-time job; I never considered looking for a part-time one.

Yesterday, I spent a good two hours just looking for part-time jobs. I sent my resume out to about seven different places.

This morning I read an article that suggested I don’t send my resume out to places I am overqualified for and I should send my resume and cover letter as directed. Meaning, if the company wants an email; email your resume and cover letter. If the company wants you to fax it, then fax you must.

I lost a bit of my momentum from yesterday. Even though my friend’s “winner take all” attitude inspired me, I started thinking maybe I was job hunting all wrong.

So, I started tweeting online. Media bistro tweeted about Michael A. Stelzner’s Writing White Paper’s blog about the best blogs for writers (http://www.writingwhitepapers.com/blog/2009/09/21/top-10-blogs-for-writers-2009-winners/).

 I was curious, so I clicked the link and I found a great blog for freelance writers looking for a job.

I wanted to share the blog with all my unemployed freelance writers. Even though it means more competition for me, I feel like it is just my duty. Sort of like when one finds a great sale on shoes or bottled water…you tell everyone and then when you go back to get more, it’s all gone.

Anyhow, here is the great website for freelance writers. Best of luck to us all.

http://www.freelancewritinggigs.com/

