After reading this article by Daniel Rubin, I am convinced. I now know what has been keeping me employed. It isn’t my lack of a snazzy resume. It isn’t because I can’t seem to write the correct tags in the monster job search engine.

I don’t have a job because I am not thinking outside the box.

Really?

So, according to your article, I should, like the man in the article, camp outside the office of my choice and just hand my resume out to everyone who walks in or out of the building. I’m sorry, isn’t this what they call loitering?

Not only that, but as I recall another news station covered a man doing the same thing after he lost his job on Wall Street. Every day he dressed in his best suit, stood on the corner and handed out his resume. Of course, it still took him weeks to find a job, but once he did, the news reporter was already there waiting to report on the happy ending.

I agree people who are unemployed have to do something to make themselves stand out. In one conversation, a human resources friend of mine told me that someone sent a ball along with his resume to let the person in human resources know that this job seeker was “on the ball”. Clever, yes. Did he get the job? Not at that company because the job was already filled.

So that man wasted how much money trying to find a job?

But according to Rubin, I have to look outside the box.

So here is what I am going to do. In the first week of October, I am going to don my best and professional suit and I will stand outside The New Yorker building handing out my resume to all that pass by. I am almost positive I will not only be arrested for this but I am sure the city of New York will have some lovely fines I will have to pay. I will also have to pay for the travel expenses (about 90 bucks I believe) and the cost to have the resumes mass produced. Then yes, the fees for loitering.

I would also like to add that I have been looking outside the box. I am searching for jobs I am too qualified for (and they don’t want me because of it). I am even looking for unpaid internships so I could maybe prove myself to a place just in case in the off chance they may have a job in the future. Also, I would like to point out that in my attempt to look outside the box, I almost fell into one of those scams where they send you a check, you cash it and lose all your money. 

Do you think Mr. Rubin I like not having a job? Do you think I enjoy living off unemployment? I hate knowing my savings is gone and I have no foreseeable way to build it back up. I can’t stand watching my credit card debt go up because I can only afford to pay the smallest payment. I hate living this way and you sit there and tell me that the reason why I am unemployed is because I am not thinking outside the box?

It is so easy for the employed to look down at the unemployed as if we were some kind of slime or scum. Of course we should have a job, we just need to look (I look every day for about five hours). We just need to look outside the box (and loiter in front of places we wish we could work but can’t because they aren’t hiring).

It’s easy to tell us what to do as you cash your paycheck every week. Not having a job is the most helpless feeling in the world and I am trying everything I can think of and some things I would never think to do to get myself out of this helpless sinking boat.

So, maybe I do just need to stand in front of the New Yorker building and see what happens. Maybe a reporter will follow me. Maybe I’ll write a blog about it. Then the New Yorker or some other wonderful literary place will see it and hire me on the spot. That would be outside the box, right?

http://www.philly.com/philly/news/20090914_Daniel_Rubin__Sidewalk_job_seeker_finds_work.html

