I recently read an article that said the United States Post Office was losing so much money that they will need to close 700 post offices. I was under the impression the post office was a secure government job. Everyone uses the mail, right?

Well, with the Internet, it is no surprise the post office is becoming more and more obsolete. We all love the ease and convenience of paying our bills on line. We can send email and e-cards to love ones. We can even send pictures and web cam movies of family events via email. With places like face book and my space, we can connect with one another at lightening speed. We can now send a hug or write on one another’s wall. We can even send pictures and notes about our family vacations over the computer. We no longer need the postman to deliver our letters because we can just send them over the ‘net.

However, I kind of miss getting letters in the mail. My daughter and I started writing letters to each other because we both miss running to the mailbox and finding a letter. I also miss looking at a letter written in someone else’s handwriting. Hand written letters are so personal and I feel like they mean a bit more then an email.

So, I am on a mission. I want to save the post office one post card at a time. I have already asked my friends on face book to send me their home addresses if they would like to get post cards from me. I love to travel (even if it is just across the bridge to Philadelphia) and now I can start looking for post cards to mail to others. I would love it if I got post cards from people, so I am making the assumption others feel the same way. Also, how cool would it be if you had a collection of post cards from someone?

So, this year starting today August 8, 2009, I vow to send whoever gives me their address a post card from where ever I travel.

I ask you to do the same. Ask your friends for their addresses and then where ever you go, just drop them a post card. If we all do this small thing, we might be able to show the post office that we still do need it. We can’t let the post office die. There is something so wonderfully personal about getting a handwritten note in the mail. Also, if we don’t do this now, we will see the post office close and then we will truly see how much we need it.

