I firmly believe that at one point in all of our lives, we will all succumb to being lost in New Jersey. I am half tempted to call this state the Idiot state because the roads never make sense.  In what way do we need a circle in the road? How does having a circle in the middle of two busy routes (like say Rte 73 and 70) really help with the flow of traffic?

Today I was going to meet a friend. I was really excited because I haven’t seen this person in a few years and I had two huge bags of books ready to give this friend. I was seriously one exit away from my destination and I got lost.

I know you are wondering what is my IQ and what is my hair color. But I don’t think the fault is with me. I think it is really New Jersey.

Try to explain to me if you can how I could get off the AC Expressway at the wrong exit and not be able to pick up the Expressway again.

Let me paint a clearer picture for you.

I get off the wrong exit…the one right after I paid three bucks. Normally, you would just turn around and pick up the expressway a few miles down from the wrong exit. No problem at all, right? Well, the only expressway I could have picked up was going the opposite way. So, if I did jump back on the expressway, I would have needed to get off the expressway at another exit, jump back on going the original way I needed to go, pay another three bucks and then take the right exit.

Why would I need to do all that? Why couldn’t I just pick the expressway back up?

Oh and it gets worse.

So, I was trying to find the expressway again and then I saw signs for Route 30. I was thinking that maybe I could pick up the expressway from that. Or maybe I would have been real lucky and picked up the road I would have gotten off if I took the proper exit.

But no such luck for me.

This isn’t the first time I have gotten lost in New Jersey.

One time I even googled directions and I was told to take exit 24 on the Garden State Parkway.

There is no exit 24 on the Garden State Parkway. It goes from exit 25 to exit 17 (I think…don’t quote me on that, but I am pretty sure that is what happened). Regardless, there is no exit 24. Even in the world of google maps, New Jersey does not make sense.

Don’t get me started on 295. I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I got on and off the wrong exit and had to go searching for my way back onto 295. I also love how the words North and South look similar far away and then when you are right on top of it, you see the exit you need but it’s too late, you were going too fast and now you can’t back up and take it.

I know that I can’t be the only person who has gotten lost in New Jersey’s odd sense of streets. Please feel free to add your story.

