You thought your math teachers were lying to you when they said math was important and that it was everywhere. The truth was, math really was everywhere. I would just site a few examples and then you can just try to say I am wrong. I’m not by the way.

 

First Example:

Remember Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally? Well, true, she was a farting whore whose breath smelled like aged cheese, but she had a very important lesson. Think about it. You have to handle your parenthesis first…meaning, you have to handle your inside bull shit before you can even start handling the outside word and its craziness. Exponents need to be handled next because although they are small, they can double or triple your problems. So after you handle your inner business, you have to hurry up and handle those small, pesky issues that can grow faster then you can blink your eye. With that said, it makes sense that multiplication and division are next. Those two have that power to create even bigger problems and if you don’t fix them fast enough, you won’t be able to handle their growing rate. At last we come to addition and subtraction. Addition is first because if you have more of something, you can always “take away” or share. If you start off already missing something, missing more things won’t help the situation.

 

Second Example:

In Algebra, remember how what you do to one side, you have to do to the other? This is all really about balance. In everything we do, we have to make sure things are balanced because too little or too much of anything is not helpful. Algebra teaches you to be balanced.

 

Third Example:

For everything, you may find a short cut, but it won’t always work. In reality, there are no short cuts that will work one hundred percent of the time. Sure that short cut looks tempting, but in the end, you will pay for taking it.

 

Fourth Example:

Show all your work. If you don’t, how will you know how to do the more complicated problems? Furthermore, if you don’t show you know how to do something, people will just think you made up the answer or you are lying. Just like in math class, in order to get full credit in life, you must show your work.

 

Fifth Example:

Some problems will have remainders. Not every problem will be solved and sometimes you will have things that just hang out as aftermath wreckage. It is okay and it doesn’t mean you did anything wrong. Sometimes in life, not everything will be an easy clean up. 

 

Sixth Example:

Word problems are difficult to solve, but once you learn how, they are easy. You have to learn how to filter out the unnecessary information and look for the written clues that will tell you how to solve the problem. Not every problem can be solved, but every problem has clues to help you understand what you need to do.

 

Now, like I said, these are just a few examples off the top of my head. I could probably go on and on about how all those lessons in math can be related to every day life.

 

I hated math growing up as a kid. I couldn’t solve word problems. I took Algebra three times. I even have a piece of lead in my left hand because I got so frustrated trying to do my math homework in sixth grade! I just was not very good at math. I think it was because it was always so definite and I always felt that nothing could be that definite.

 

Sure, when I got to college and had to take a Statistics class, I thought I entered into a new layer of hell. But I found that if I just played some music, inputted the formula, I learned how to compute the problem. I saw that math wasn’t so bad after all. I just needed to learn the pattern and relate it to my own life.

