It’s funny how you can read a book once and not really care too much about it. Then you read it again during a different part of your life and the book then becomes part of your own life. That is what happened with the book “Catcher in the Rye”.

The first time I read it, I wasn’t really attached to it. I finished it in a few hours and just didn’t see the big deal everyone else made about this book. It was an okay book, but not one I would hold close to my heart.

Then I had to teach the book and basically read it like 6 times. I started to see all this great stuff I didn’t see the first time I read it. Also, at the time I was first teaching the book, I met a real life Holden and the book held a deeper meaning for me. I understood the character so much more and I had even more compasion for what Holden was up against in the novel.

It is Christmas time again and this year I want to have a Holden Caulfield Christmas. Sure, I would forego the nervous breakdown, but I need to see the other stuff. I have never seen New York at Christmas time and this year I really want to see it. I want to see the Rockerfellow Center Christmas Tree in person this year. I want to fall on my ass trying to skate around the ice skating rink. I want to see the Tiffany’s store and of course Macy’s. I wouldn’t mind catching a play either while I was in town.

I have seen Philadelphia at Christmas. i’ve walked through Dickinson’s Village. I’ve seen the big tree decorations in Rittenhouse Square. But now I want more. I want to see New York at Christmas time.

Just as Holden walked around going ice skating, seeing a show, and trying to figure out this whole love thing…I want that, too.

So, this year for Christmas…among all the other gifts I want…I want to see New York. I think it is something we all should do at least once before we die. Since tomorrow isn’t a promise, I must go this year before I loose the opportunity.

